BMW need to know....

grantii

Hi Board,

I am a complete newbie...so please forgive me if there is something that has been addressed elsewhere. I am not a BMW owner....yet. I have long admired the car and by far I love the 750iL....but I am a mere grad student, and to purchase a 750 is kinda out the question...well maybe not so.

In any event I have come across a 2001 740iL with approx 52K miles. Being that I've never owned a bimmer, I'd like know what are some things that I need to look for in seeing if this car is worth its pricetag....which is a little over 19K. Going into this car would be stepping upwards from my '02 Millenia, but I've purchased out of my realm and been burnt very very badly. I bought a '98 Catera and spent a TON on repairs[ohcrap] and I really don't want to go back down a road of dispair if I can help it. Currently there is nothing wrong with my mazda...and getting it repaired is quite simple, considering its technically a foreign car. My biggest concerns are what are the typical repair bills for this car? What are some common problems? What kinds of maintenance outside of typical oil changes and the like are required for this car? What kind of gas does this thing take - and please don't tell me 92!?[bigcry]

Now I haven't committed anything at this time, but it's such a beautiful car......green ext and tan int (while I would prefer black on black....but it's used, so can't be picky) and personally I wanted to get a bimmer once I got out of my MBA program....but this could be a start. Let me know what I need to heed. If the bill isn't more than my caddy or avalon (another car that took a toll on the pocket) then I might give it serious thought.

....oh, in case anyone wants to read about the car in question...here's a link to the PDF of the car in question
http://www.autotrader.com/ac-servlets/vehiclebrochure/brochure.pdf?car_id=225300627&dealer_id=262227

[bmwdance]Thanks for your help[cheers]

Big Daddy